RSS

Santorum, Romney stake out positions on Puerto Rico’s language | The Daily Caller

16 Mar

Puerto Rico | English | Rick Santorum | Mitt Romney | The Daily Caller.

My Comments:

I went to Puerto Rico once and a lady, my interpreter, asked me, “Why when I go to the United States do I have to speak English but when people from the United States come here they don’t have to speak Spanish?”

Why don’t people from the United States try to learn more than one language to converse fluently? Yes, English is the universal business language but does it hurt us to learn another language to communicate in – fluently?

I work with Deaf people. They speak American Sign Language (ASL) and can not speak English for the most part, because they have great difficulty speaking. They do learn English as a second language. I am Hard of Hearing (HH or H/H) and speak fluently in ASL because there I understand everything while in the spoken English I miss a lot. Those who are profoundly Deaf CANNOT speak English. The point is that sometimes we need to make some allowances.

Puerto Rico was always Spanish-speaking, and not of their own doing, they became a territory of the United States. Their culture has always been decidedly Spanish and so has the language. Their culture is wrapped up in their language and vice versa. When you take away their language. You take away their culture when you take away their culture, you diminish who they are, their identity.

It seems to me that if the requirements to become a state is that they must have English as their first language, it may be better to stay a territory. Or if they want to become a state and are required to have English as their first language. Spanish should also be encouraged as a second language or allow English to be a second language to keep Puerto Rico’s uniqueness. I loved being there and having the Spanish influence. That is one of the attractive things about Puerto Rico. It certainly is an advantage for them to learn English as much as it is for those in the United States to learn Spanish.

In the past few years I have moved to an area that has many Spanish-speaking people in it and because of that, I am learning Spanish so that I can have some understanding of the people, their culture and to have the ability to communicate with them in a language where they are comfortable. It is a bit difficult for me being hard of hearing to learn Spanish, however, I feel it’s a worthwhile investment of my time and energy because I value people, their culture and their relationships.

What do you think about Puerto Rico being required to speak English as a first language to become a state?

Puerto Rico | English | Rick Santorum | Mitt Romney | The Daily Caller.

 
Comments Off on Santorum, Romney stake out positions on Puerto Rico’s language | The Daily Caller

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in US POLITICS

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
